Bunker to Bunker Golf Latest News AZ | Phoenix Arizona Golf Press Releases


Ready for some overseas golf? The PGA TOUR’s Asian Swing begins with this week’s CIMB Classic in Malaysia, followed by tournaments in South Korea and China. Unique venues and cultural experiences await (as do late-night viewing opportunities on the Golf Channel!).

Three Players to Ponder

1 Justin Thomas
Three of his nine career PGA TOUR wins have come on the Asian Swing. That’s only one less than his win total in the continental U.S.

2 Pat Perez
Ryan Moore in 2013-14. JT in 2015-16. To continue the trend of successful defenses, Perez will have to win on a course with significant changes.

3 Billy Horschel
Was on fire during the FedExCup Playoffs. Now hoping to carry that momentum into the new season.

Read More


Justin Thomas Wins Back-to-Back Money Titles, First Since Tiger Woods

Tiger Woods finished off the PGA Tour season by tapping in for par to win the Tour Championship, a moment that ended any doubts that he could win again after four surgeries on his lower back. And then the moment was gone.

Hours later, Woods and 17 other players were headed to France for the all-consuming Ryder Cup. And with barely enough time to digest Europe winning and Patrick Reed pouting, the PGA Tour started up a new season in California.

Read More


At the 2018 TOUR Championship, Tiger Woods finishes one of the greatest comebacks in sporting history with his 80th PGA TOUR victory and first in 5 years.

The TOUR Championship, the final of the four events in the FedExCup Playoffs, is contested at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, GA. In 2017, Justin Thomas capped off an incredible season, one that included five victories -- including his first major at the PGA Championship -- and a career-best 59 at the Sony Open in Hawaii, with the FedExCup. He finished second at East Lake and outlasted his pal Jordan Spieth for the top prize.


Three-Time Major Champion Brooks Koepka Captures PGA Player of the Year Award

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (Sept. 26, 2018) – Three-time major champion Brooks Koepka, who turned professional just six years ago and who overcame a serious wrist injury prior to this season, wrapped up a historic campaign by capturing the 2018 PGA of America Player of the Year Award, presented by the PGA of America for excellence by a PGA TOUR professional.

Koepka, who won a second consecutive U.S. Open Championship in June, powered his way to the PGA Player of the Year award by winning the PGA Championship in August. He collected 126 total points based upon two major championship victories, which guaranteed him 50 bonus points. He also finished fifth in the season money list and ninth in the Vardon Trophy standings for adjusted scoring average.

Read More


How it Works: Ryder Cup Format

The game's top players tee it up at Le Golf National just outside of Paris, France, for the 2018 Ryder Cup. The first Ryder Cup was played in 1927 but since 1979 the competition has consisted of two days of four-ball and foursome matches along with one day of singles matches. The 2018 Ryder Cup begins Friday, September 30, here's what you need to know on the unique team format.

WHERE: The location of the Ryder Cup alternates between Europe and the United States.

TEAMS: In 2018, U.S. players gain points at every non-opposite PGA TOUR event, World Golf Championships event and major through the 100th PGA Championship at Bellerive, which concluded on August 12, 2018.

The top eight in the Ryder Cup points standings qualified automatically: Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and Webb Simpson.

The four remaining slots on the U.S. team are captain's picks by Jim Furyk. The first three were announced following the Dell Technologies Championship: Bryson DeChambeau, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods. Tony Finau became the final captain's pick on Monday, September 10.

The European Team, captained by Thomas Bjørn, is comprised of the first four players from the European Points List, followed by the leading four players from the World Points List and completed by four wild cards. European Points List qualifiers: Francesco Molinari, Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton and Tommy Fleetwood. World Points List: Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Alex Noren and Thorbjorn Olesen. Paul Casey, Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter and Henrik Stenson were the captain's picks.


There is no more waiting for Tiger Woods. Tiger won the 2018 Tour Championship to earn his first PGA Tour win since 2013.

Tiger now trails Sam Snead by just two PGA Tour wins.

Here are the seven players with the most PGA Tour wins of all time.

Read More


Two years since the passing of Arnold Palmer, the stories have continued to surface from fellow golfers and fans alike.

One such story that recently resurfaced on Reddit’s golf page is a pretty hilarious one Lee Trevino told in 2013 about Arnie’s final competitive round at the Champions Tour's Administaff Small Business Classic on October 13, 2006. 

In typical Palmer fashion, he gave Trevino a good ribbing about his play and Palmer told him to “not embarrass him like this” after Trevino birdied the first two holes. It was on the fourth hole that Palmer needed help from his partner to find the pin, and that’s when he said he was done playing competitive golf. 


Congressional to host future PGA of America Championships

The PGA of America announced today that Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Maryland, will host eight of its championships and events over the next two decades including the Ryder Cup and PGA Championship.

The landmark agreement will route the Ryder Cup (2036), PGA Championship (2031), KPMG Women’s PGA Championship (2022, ’27), KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship (2025, ’33), PGA Professional Championship (2029) and the Junior PGA Championship (Girls and Boys, 2024) to the Nation’s Capital and Congressional’s Blue Course during a 15-year stretch from 2022 to 2036. Congressional will also host an annual PGA HOPE national event, introducing golf to veterans, for the duration of the contract.

Conceived in 1921 so that Members of Congress could meet socially with business leaders, Congressional boasts a vaunted golf history that includes the 1976 PGA Championship won by Dave Stockton and a trio of U.S. Opens (2011/Rory McIlroy, 1997/Ernie Els, 1964/Ken Venturi). Congressional has also staged the 1995 U.S. Senior Open, the 1959 U.S. Women’s Amateur, the 1949 U.S. Junior Championship and three PGA Tour events a total of 15 times.